The trial period…

So, am I the only one that takes the first few days of the new year as a trial period, like a get-out-of-jail sort of a deal, where I can test run all the new resolutions I made or try out the changes I want to implement. So now that its the eleventh and the trial is over I think I can finally release the official list of my Official New Years Resolutions for 2014.

Please try to laugh along, I really don’t take life very seriously in general (except for a few aspects which are indeed very, very serious, and should be taken as such). So here is the list:

  1. Try to be more organized: I happen to have many talents. and that is not just a boast. I can back that statement up. But couple that with an inability to say “NO”, I am constantly rushing from place to place, busy and on the verge of total collapse. So I will try and be more organized with my commitments and really try and manage my time better
  2. Try to be more organized (Part 2): This part pertains to my personal MATERIAL life. I have three houses where my possessions have been split up into. One is my family home in Islamabad (the permanent residence), then there is where my parents currently reside in the neighboring city of Lahore, in a rented house. Finally there is where I live in Malaysia, my second home. MY home (though this too is rented BUT under my name) *do you sense the pride?*…. So because of this three way split I have accumulated waaay too many possessions that are becoming hard to manage. So I am trying to SORT MY SHIT OUT, as they say.
  3. Enjoy the now: I have a tendency to sometimes get very caught up. Couple that with a slight issue of nerves and lack of stress management skills and I tend to lose out on the joys of today, for the fear and stress and panic of an uncertain tomorrow…and WOW did that sound all philosophical there just then! But really, I need to chill out.
  4. Read more: In this day and age of technological addiction, I seem to be losing my one and only oldest habit that I have managed to hold on to from my childhood, other than that annoying one where I ask questions…a lot. But it pains me to admit that I have not really been able to commit to reading in a long time. And that scares me. I am loathe to lose the thing that makes me who I am, because I have truly been shaped by the things I have read. And so I shall endeavor to stay away from tech-y stuff long enough to read something. I really love and need my books, more than anyone could possibly understand.
  5. Take better care of my skin and hair: I take some serious meds. I mean really serious ones, and regularly on a daily basis. And this has taken a massive toll on my physical appearance. Don’t get me wrong, I am in no way a totally “Monet” as the phrase from Clueless (the movie) would go. But I have personally noticed a drastic amount of hair fall and thinning recently as well as a strange unnatural dryness and dull tone to my skin. Big no-no, I am only just about to turn 24!
  6. Learn to be selfish: This sort of pertains to the first one, but is a problem big enough to deserve its own numbered bullet point. I cant say no, and even when I do, it takes a lot of effort. And this is bad, not just for my physical health, because honestly, a girl gets tired running around trying to meet commitments, but also bad for me as a person. I am not a door mat, and I need to learn that if I say no to people and they turn away from me, then they don’t deserve my help to begin with. I need to stop fearing that I will offend people or be left out or cut out. I need to make time for myself and the people I love.
  7. Cook more proper food: This has to do with the fact that I am a measly 4 feet and 11 inches tall. This means that any, even an amount that would be negligible on a normal person, weight gain is a BIG no. And here I am getting thunder thighs and a belly! Yech! People my size are affectionately known as petite. But lets be real, all that means is that I am small. And gaining weight is painfully visually obvious. So I need to be more careful and make better culinary choices, to help boost my metabolism and shed some pounds before it is too late!
  8. Sleep more: My mind is incessantly ON. I have so much trouble shutting it down to sleep! If it is not the insomnia then it is just my driving curiosity to click that next link, read that next article, watch that next episode. Always  the next thing. Until I exhaust myself and the next day is ruined.
  9. Be more competitive and really exercise my creativity: I have, over the last few years developed a new tendency: to downplay myself. It’s one thing to be humble and another to totally step out of the race! I do not remember when this first began, that moment when I became complacent with mediocrity. But I recently realized that I have missed out on some great opportunities since I became, let’s just say it: LAZY. But no more! I think it is time for some reevaluation of my skills and dusting off my playing shoes.
  10. and finally, Be a better friend: I am terrible at keeping in touch. As you may have understood by now, if you have read so much, or are an old reader that has been following me for sometime, I tend to get caught up. I really need to start committing to relationships with my family and friends and stop losing touch with the people that care about me. It hurts them and in turn, hurts me.

And there you have it! My top-10s. There are sub categories to each one though, I wouldn’t be a very good OCD person if I didn’t micro plan even my resolutions, but I will spare you those details. I hope I can keep to these and in turn, improve my life for the better, for me and for those in my life.

5e32d44c67ce898cf5f354594eeb75f2

5d750c717ca9b57a15a5c407670c9e1c

299191_10150868157310514_1970148479_n

988312_234532730035083_1881334962_n

1374934_10151892307452863_100215423_n

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

